Tag Archives: traams

Quickdraw: The Most Serene Republic, Potty Mouth, Yung, Traams, Cool Ghouls

August 10, 2015


Music!  Enjoy.

:The Most Serene Republic – Ontario Morning:  I’ve always liked The Most Serene Republic, so I’m happy they decided to bring their hiatus to an end.  This first single back is really energetic, and I hope the rest of their new LP (their first in six years) is just like it.  Mediac is due out November 13 via MapleMusic.

:Potty Mouth – Cherry Picking:  I really dig this song, but I have to admit it might be a bit much for those of you who prefer to stay away from anything that’s 110% 90s-enthused.  Potty Mouth will release a self titled EP on August 21 via Planet Whatever Records.

:Yung – Blue Uniforms:  Yung frontman Mikkel Holm Silkjær is only 21, so I guess that explains why this six-minute track is all over the place.  Kids and their weird attention spans, right?  At least it’s being used for good here.  The These Thoughts Are Like Mandatory Life Choices EP is due out September 18 via Fat Possum.

:Traams – Succulent Thunder Anthem:  The press release for Traams new album says that for it the band “adapted the charisma of White Denim’s experimentalism and early Modest Mouse’ indie guitar pop.”  I’m in for that.  Though, for whatever reason, I kind of hear more Parquet Courts here than anything else.  Modern Dancing is due out November 13 via FatCat Records.

:Cool Ghouls – Creature That I Am:  Here’s a nice straight up rock n’ roll throwback from Cool Ghouls.  Crank it up loud.  The Creature That I Am 7″ is due out October 23 via Dizzybird Records.  They’re apparently playing Austin on October 2, but the venue is listed as TBD.

Continue reading...

Stream This

September 13, 2013


The SOTO inbox is always full of cool stuff that never gets to see the light of day on the actual site, and I’d like to change that.  So, every Friday I’ll be posting the best album streams and videos that were sent my way during the week.  Take a scroll and find something worth remembering.


Joanna Gruesome – Weird Sister
Dustin Wong – Meditation Of Ecstatic Energy
Keep Shelly In Athens – At Home
LAKE – The World Is Real
Cid Rim – Mute City
MGMT – Self Titled
Elvis Costello & The Roots – Wise Up Ghost
Sebadoh – Defend Yourself
Arp – More
The Naked And Famous – In Rolling Waves
Pillars And Tongues – End-dances
Traams – Grin
HSY – Self Titled
Seams – Quarters
Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin – Fly By Wire
Drew Price’s Bermuda Triangle – Friends And Family
Said The Whale – Hawaii
San Fermin – Self Titled
Body Language – Grammar


Arcade Fire will release Reflektor on October 29.

Quasi will put out Mole City on October 1 via Kill Rock Stars.  The band is set to play Fun Fun Fun Fest.

Crystal Antlers will release Nothing Is Real on October 15 through Innovative Leisure.

Glasser’s Interiors is due out October 9 via True Panther.

Obits’s Bed & Bugs is out now on Sub Pop.

Franz Ferdinand recently released Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action via Domino.

Deerhunters’s Monomania is out now.

Eagulls will put out the Nerve Endings 7″ on September 30.

Forest Fire’s Screens is out now on FatCat.

Waxahatchee’s Cerulean Salt is available now via Don Giovanni.

Jonathan Rado’s Law And Order was recently released on Woodsist.

Deer Tick’s Negativity is due out September 24 via Partisan Records.

Icona Pop are set to release This Is … Icona Pop on September 24.

Polly Scattergood will release Arrows on October 21 via Mute.

Deltron 3030 will put out Deltron 3030: Event II on October 1 via Bulk Recordings.  Catch them at Fun Fun Fun Fest in November.

Continue reading...

Stream This

August 23, 2013


The SOTO inbox is always full of cool stuff that never gets to see the light of day on the actual site, and I’d like to change that.  So, every Friday I’ll be posting the best album streams and videos that were sent my way during the week.  Take a scroll and find something worth remembering.


Franz Ferdinand – Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action
Volcano Choir – Repave
Neko Case – The Worse Things Get, The Harder I Fight
Black Joe Lewis – Electric Slave
Forest Swords – Engravings
Bent Shapes – Feels Weird
Disappears – Era
Dent May – Warm Blanket
Ghost Wave – Ages
The Dodos – Carrier
Belle And Sebastian – The Third Eye Centre
Weiss/Cameron/Hill – Drumgasm
How Sad – Indian Summer EP
Zula – Twin Loss


Diarrhea Planet’s I’m Rich Beyond Your Wildest Dreams is out now on Infinity Cat Recordings.

American Sharks will release their self titled debut on September 17 via In The End Records.

Night Beds’ Country Sleep is out now on Dead Oceans.

STRFKR’s Miracle Mile is out now on Polyvinyl.  They play Emo’s East on October 11.

Army Navy just put out The Crushed EP on The Fever Zone Records.

Traams will release Grin on September 24 via FatCat Records.

Golden Suits’ self titled debut is out now.

Superchunk just released I Hate Music via Merge.

Pelican will release Forever Becoming on October 15 via Southern Lord.

Soft Metals put out Lenses last month.  They play Red 7 on September 11.

The Delta Mirror’s Better Unsung is out now on Lightwave.

Continue reading...

Quickdraw: TRAAMS, Franz Ferdinand, Jacuzzi Boys, Coke Weed, Au Revoir Simone

July 1, 2013


Today’s music just wants your love.  Enjoy.

:TRAAMS – Low:  I saw a note that mentioned how TRAAMS like to refer to their music as “wonky pop.”  I would maybe consider going with “wonky garage pop.”  The band will release the Ladders EP tomorrow via FatCat Records.  A full length is expected at some point in September.

:Franz Ferdinand – Right Action:  I don’t know if this song is good enough to warrant Franz Ferdinand needing four years to put together a new album, but I do think it’s a fun number.  Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action is due August 27 via Domino.  Also, another new track can be heard here.

:Jacuzzi Boys – Domino Moon:  This is a surprisingly well crafted pop song.  I always figured Jacuzzi Boys would stick to just being a noisy little garage rock act, but I guess they decided to grow up.  Neat.  You’ll be able to pick up the band’s self titled album on September 10 via Hardly Art.

:Coke Weed – Anklet:  While I consider Coke Weed to be an overly silly name, I do think they’re a good band.  This song makes me want to sit around for way too long and do nothing but listen to 90s indie rock.  Be sure to grab Back To Soft on July 22.

:Au Revoir Simone – Somebody Who:  I’ve never been a huge fan of Au Revoir Simone, but this dreamy pop song is a real delight.  Feel free to put it on and then softly dance around the room.  The band will put out Move In Spectrums on September 24 via Moshi Moshi/Instant.

Continue reading...