Tag Archives: happy diving

Quickdraw: Thee Oh Sees, Joanna Gruesome, Happy Diving, Field Mouse, Sleigh Bells

July 19, 2016


Music!  Enjoy.

:Thee Oh Sees – The Axis:  There’s something oddly intoxicating about this slow burner from Thee Oh Sees.  Do yourself a favor and toss on some headphones before you hit play.  A Weird Exits is due out August 12 via Castle Face.

:Joanna Gruesome – Pretty Fucking Sick Of It All:  Two things about this song.  1)  It’s Joanna Gruesome’s first bit of new material since singer Alanna McArdle left the band.  2)  It was influenced by their most recent U.S. tour, during which “the CIA took a special interest in the group’s movements.”  Guess that explains why the track’s title is so no nonsense.   The Pretty Fucking Sick Of It All single is available now via Slumberland.

:Happy Diving – Don’t Be Afraid Of Love:  Here’s the latest wall of fuzz from indie rockers Happy Diving.  Turn it up, and then join me in expecting good things from their upcoming album.  Electric Soul Unity is due out August 19 via Topshelf.

:Field Mouse – The Order Of Things:  This a rather jangly, very 90s rock track from Field Mouse.  On a related note, I just got sent their new album.  I need to listen to it ASAP.  Episodic is due out August 5 via Topshelf.

:Sleigh Bells – Hyper Dark:  The first time I listened to this track I figured it was slowly building up to what would surely be some sort of chaotic noise explosion.  Nope.  It actually just slinks about and generally doesn’t sound like Sleigh Bells at all.  I like it.  No word yet on when a new album will be released.

Continue reading...

Quickdraw: Tacocat, Happy Diving, Field Mouse, Angel Olsen, Tycho

July 5, 2016


Music!  Enjoy.

:Tacocat – I Live For The Sun (The Sunrays Cover):  Tacocat will soon be in a town near you, and they’ve released this Sunrays cover to help get you excited about it.  Turn up the volume and take in all of its catchiness.

:Happy Diving – Head Spell:  “Tender yet loud” is how this Happy Diving track is referred to in its press release, and once you hit play you’ll see for yourself just how fitting of a description that is.  I think it’s a good sound for them.  Electric Soul Unity will be out August 19 via Topshelf.

:Field Mouse – The Mirror:  Here’s a nice slice of 90s-enthused pop rock from Field Mouse.  Their upcoming album is one that I think I’m really going to dig.  Episodic is due out August 5 via Topshelf.

:Angel Olsen – Shut Up Kiss Me:  While I’m still not sure how I feel about Angel Olsen’s other single, I’m 100% in love with this one.  I can’t get it (or the video) out of my head.  My Woman is due out September 2 via Jagjaguwar.

:Tycho – Division:  Tycho just released this headphone-worthy effort.  It didn’t come with any news on a new album, but I’m really hoping it means that one isn’t too far off.  His last effort, 2014′s Awake, is still a big favorite of mine.

Continue reading...

Stream This

October 31, 2014


From the depths of the SOTO inbox, I present to you your weekly serving of the latest and greatest album streams and videos.  Enjoy.


Please note that the majority of the streams expire as soon as the albums are released, so don’t wait too long to check them out.

ALBUM OF THE WEEK ➡ Deerhoof – La Isla Bonita

Happy Diving – Big World
Dirty Beaches – Stateless
Trans Upper Egypt – Self Titled
Les Sins – Michael
Deptford Goth – Songs
CHLLNGR – Form Of Release
Grouper – Ruins
Neil Young – Storytone
Bob Dylan – The Basement Tapes Complete: Bootleg Series – Volume 11



Continue reading...

Quickdraw: Bass Drum Of Death, Pity Sex, Happy Diving, Little Big League, King Tuff

September 15, 2014


Music!  Enjoy.

:Bass Drum Of Death – For Blood:  The press releases for the new Bass Drum Of Death album have been interesting in that they blatantly admit the band’s goal is to land a mainstream audience.  It’s sort of refreshing, really.  There’s usually some elaborate story that details how a “cleaned up sound” came about, but here it’s just simply because the band wants more fans.  I can respect that.  Rip This is due October 7 via Innovative Leisure.

:Pity Sex – Acid Reflex:  For some reason it’s taken an eternity for me to fully come around on Pity Sex.  They totally have that 90s rock sound that I adore on an almost obsessive level, so I don’t know what I’ve been waiting for.  The band’s split 7″ with Adventures is due out October 7 via Run For Cover Records.

:Happy Diving – Sad Planet:  Happy Diving are a band out of the Bay Area that I like a lot.  This new track of theirs sees them giving a bit of a shout out to the Weezer from way back, and I think it’s pretty rad.  Look for Big World to be released on October 21 via Father/Daughter Records.

:Little Big League – Tropical Jinx:  I haven’t at all been on the hunt for a warmer version of Speedy Ortiz, but Little Big League are exactly that and somehow I feel like it’s exactly what I’ve been waiting for.  I blame Michelle Zauner’s alluring voice for all of it.  Tropical Jinx will be released on October 14 via Run For Cover Records.

:King Tuff – Headbanger:  This song features some immensely goofy/lame songwriting, but it’s catchy and fun so I’m sharing it.  On a related note, I can’t wait to hear slick rock numbers like this one played alongside King Tuff’s older, more psychedelic efforts.   Sub Pop will release Black Moon Spell on September 23.

Continue reading...

Quickdraw: Happy Diving, Solids, Hospitality, Jack Name, Metronomy

November 18, 2013


Today’s music is brought to you by you.  Enjoy.

:Happy Diving – Sincere:  The nice folks over at Father/Daughter Records recently added Happy Diving to their roster and they will release their self titled debut on January 14.  The band’s first single sounds like it was pulled directly out of the 90s, so of course I love it.

:Solids – Traces:  This song is a glorious blast of distortion and energy, and I’m really digging it.  Consider me excited to check out Solids’ Blame Confusion, which is due out on February 18 via Fat Possum Records.

:Hospitality – I Miss Your Bones:  Here’s a new one from Hospitality that I apparently didn’t catch a couple of weeks back.  It’s a bit quirky, but that’s definitely not a bad thing.  Trouble is set to be released on January 28 via Merge Records.

:Jack Name – Pure Terror:  There isn’t anything about this track that isn’t dense, so I definitely recommend spending some quality headphone time with it.  Jack Name will release Light Show on January 21 via God? Records.

:Metronomy – I’m Aquarius:  I’ve been jamming this one for a few days now.  It’s so damn catchy.  Good luck not getting it lodged in your head forever.  Metronomy will release Love Letters on the very far way date of March 11 through Because Music/Electra Records.

Continue reading...