Tag Archives: potty mouth

Quickdraw: The Most Serene Republic, Potty Mouth, Yung, Traams, Cool Ghouls

August 10, 2015


Music!  Enjoy.

:The Most Serene Republic – Ontario Morning:  I’ve always liked The Most Serene Republic, so I’m happy they decided to bring their hiatus to an end.  This first single back is really energetic, and I hope the rest of their new LP (their first in six years) is just like it.  Mediac is due out November 13 via MapleMusic.

:Potty Mouth – Cherry Picking:  I really dig this song, but I have to admit it might be a bit much for those of you who prefer to stay away from anything that’s 110% 90s-enthused.  Potty Mouth will release a self titled EP on August 21 via Planet Whatever Records.

:Yung – Blue Uniforms:  Yung frontman Mikkel Holm Silkjær is only 21, so I guess that explains why this six-minute track is all over the place.  Kids and their weird attention spans, right?  At least it’s being used for good here.  The These Thoughts Are Like Mandatory Life Choices EP is due out September 18 via Fat Possum.

:Traams – Succulent Thunder Anthem:  The press release for Traams new album says that for it the band “adapted the charisma of White Denim’s experimentalism and early Modest Mouse’ indie guitar pop.”  I’m in for that.  Though, for whatever reason, I kind of hear more Parquet Courts here than anything else.  Modern Dancing is due out November 13 via FatCat Records.

:Cool Ghouls – Creature That I Am:  Here’s a nice straight up rock n’ roll throwback from Cool Ghouls.  Crank it up loud.  The Creature That I Am 7″ is due out October 23 via Dizzybird Records.  They’re apparently playing Austin on October 2, but the venue is listed as TBD.

Continue reading...

Stream This

January 31, 2014


From the depths of the SOTO inbox, I present to you your weekly serving of the latest and greatest album streams and videos.  Enjoy.


ALBUM OF THE WEEK ➡ Robert Ellis – The Lights From The Chemical Plant

Holy Wave – Relax
Young Girls – Self Titled EP
Borzoi – Dogs Of The Matriarchy EP
North Americans – NO_NO
Jerome LOL – Deleted/Fool
Xiu Xiu – Angel Guts: Red Classroom
Willis Earl Beal – A Place That Doesn’t Exist
Broken Bells – After The Disco
Actress – Ghettoville
Wax Fang – The Astronaut
Cymbals – The Age Of Fracture
Plus/Minus – Jumping The Tracks
Marissa Nadler – July
CEO – Wonderland
Disco Doom – Numerals
Aztec Camera – High Land, Hard Rain (30th Anniversary Reissue)
Be Forest – Earthbeat
Drowners – Self Titled
Nicole Atkins – Slow Phaser


St. Vincent

Continue reading...

Stream This

September 6, 2013


The SOTO inbox is always full of cool stuff that never gets to see the light of day on the actual site, and I’d like to change that.  So, every Friday I’ll be posting the best album streams and videos that were sent my way during the week.  Take a scroll and find something worth remembering.


Terry Malts – Nobody Realizes This Is Nowhere
Holy Ghost! – Dynamics
Body/Head – Coming Apart
Man Man – On Oni Pond
Delorean – Apar
Mum – Smilewound
Jacuzzi Boys – Self Titled
Windhand – Soma
Janelle Monae – The Electric Lady
Arctic Monkeys – AM
Willis Earl Beal – Nobody Knows
Potty Mouth – Hell Bent
The Weekend – Kiss Land
Infinity Shred – Sanctuary
Grooms – Infinity Caller
Imaginary People – Self Titled
Pink Frost – Sundowning
Surf City – We Knew It Was Not Going To Be Like This
Mrs. Magician – B-Sides
The Orwells – Who Needs You EP


Sleigh Bells will put out Bitter Rivals on October 8 via Mom + Pop.  They play Stubb’s on October 27.

Black Joe Lewis put out Electric Slave last week via Vagrant.

Crystal Stilts’s Nature Noir is due out September 17 via Sacred Bones.

Kelley Stoltz will release Double Exposure on September 24 via Third Man Records.

SISU will put out Blood Tears on September 17 via Mono Prism Records.

FIDLAR have a tour-only split 7″ with The Orwells.  Get one when they play ACL in October.

Holograms just put out Forever via Captured Tracks.

Team Spirit’s self titled EP is out now on VICE/WBR.

Empire Of The Sun put out Ice On The Dune earlier this year via Astralwerks.

Tricky’s False Idols is available now.

Heliotropes’s A Constant Sea is out now on Manimal/Frenchkiss Label Group.

Continue reading...