Tag Archives: warm soda

Warm Soda (Jennifer)

April 1, 2015


Warm, sunny spring days inspire rolling down the windows and turning up your favorite tunes. I Wanna Go Fast is the new single from Warm Soda’s upcoming album, Symbolic Dream, and it’s more than fitting for that liberating, summer is on its way feeling. The song plays like a fizzy, sugary rush; it’s barely over two minutes long and you just want to hit the repeat button to get that feeling again. Irresistible guitar hooks with garage-rock-meets-glam-pop-flair makes for a winning, fun combination.

The new album is out on Castle Face Records on May 4. Warm Soda have adopted Austin as their new hometown (lead singer Matthew Melton moved here from Oakland), and you can see them this Saturday at Hotel Vegas (with The Blind Pets and Gym Shorts) before they cross the pond for their Summer Euro Tour.

:Warm Soda – I Wanna Go Fast:

Continue reading...

Warm Soda (Jennifer)

March 5, 2014


Oakland quartet Warm Soda are back with their second album, Young Reckless Hearts, which is being released on March 11 via Castle Face Records.  Following their 2013 debut, Someone For You, Warm Soda continue to put their signature musical stamp on their blend of power pop, garage, and glam rock. Their sound is deliciously catchy and upbeat; it’s feel good music to brighten those end of winter blues and fitting for your upcoming summer soundtrack. It may be an odd comparison but their sound is a bit reminiscent of cotton candy – intensely sweet (dangerously close to being a guilty pleasure) but also a bit gritty and messy.

You can catch them at SXSW; their official showcase is at Hotel Vegas on Saturday, March 15.  They also have a bunch of unofficial shows.

Continue reading...

Shivery Shakes, Tiger Waves, She Sir, Walker Lukens, Warm Soda (Jennifer)

April 3, 2013


One of the shows I’m looking forward to this week features three of my local guitar pop favorites. She Sir has been busy writing and recording the past couple of months, and I’m excited to hear more of their sparkling new tunes at tomorrow’s show at the Mohawk. They will be joined by the garage rock meets power pop sounds of Shivery Shakes and the shimmery, chillout vibes of Tiger Waves. This triple local threat is an excellent way to start off your live music weekend.

Walker Lukens is a singer/songwriter who is a recent Austin transplant. I first saw him perform during Austin Free Week playing a solo set. It just wasn’t a guy and his guitar. He was a one man band performing sonic experiments with vocal and instrumental loops resulting in an engaging, memorable, and entertaining performance. He (and his band The Side Arms) is celebrating the release of his debut album, Devoted, with a show at The North Door this Saturday with my favorites, Good Field and Growl as his special guests. $10 entry at the door includes a copy of the CD. Another top notch local triple threat that I highly recommend.

It’s no secret I’m a fan of the 2-3 minute pop song. During SXSW this year, I discovered a garage rock meets power pop gem from Warm Soda. They recently released their debut album, Someone For You, on Castle Face Records (home to artists like Ty Segall and Thee Oh Sees). You experience the sweet, giddy bubblegum rush from the irresistible pop hooks but there’s also the gritty garage/glam rock charm that keeps you coming back for more and hitting the repeat button.

Continue reading...

Stream This

March 29, 2013


The SOTO inbox is always full of cool stuff that never gets to see the light of day on the actual site, and I’d like to change that.  So, every Friday I’ll be posting the best album streams and videos that were sent my way during the week.  Take a scroll and find something worth remembering.


Charles Bradley – Victim Of Love
Cold War Kids – Dear Miss Lonelyhearts
Generationals – Heza
Olafur Arnalds – For Now I Am Winter
IO ECHO – Ministry Of Love
Luxury Liners – They’re Flowers
Vondelpark – Seabed
Dutch Uncles – Out Of Touch In The Wild
The Black Angels – Indigo Meadow
Chvrches – Recover EP
Wax Idols – Discipline And Desire
Mudhoney – Vanishing Point
Wire – Change Becomes Us
Warm Soda – Someone For You
Niagara – Otto
Tartufi – These Factory Days


Yeah Yeah Yeahs are all set to release Mosquito on April 16 through Interscope.

Phosphorescent just put out Muchacho on Dead Oceans.

Marnie Stern’s The Chronicles Of Marnia is out now on Kill Rock Stars.

Big Deal is set to release June Gloom on June 18 via Mute.

Wavves recently put out Afraid Of Heights on Mom + Pop.

Tricky will release False Idols on May 28 via his own label.

Shellshag will put out Shellshag Forever on April 20 through Don Giovanni.

Barbarossa’s The Load 7″ is out now on Memphis Industries.

Team Spirit will release a self titled EP on April 9 via Vice Records.

Toro Y Moi’s Anything In Return is out now on Carpark Records.

The Coathangers are about to head out on a tour in Europe with And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead.

Inc. recently put out No World on 4AD.

Thee Oh Sees will release Floating Coffins on April 16 via Castle Face.

Cold Cave put out this song in September of last year, but the video is new.

Passion Pit’s Gossamer is out now.

Continue reading...

Stream This

February 22, 2013


The SOTO inbox is always full of cool stuff that never gets to see the light of day on the actual site, and I’d like to change that.  So, every Friday I’ll be posting the best album streams and videos that were sent my way during the week.  Take a scroll and find something worth remembering.


How To Destroy Angels – Welcome Oblivion
Sally Shapiro – Somewhere Else
The M Machine – Metropolis Pt. II
Sin Fang – Flowers
Doldrums – Lesser Evil
Mister Lies – Mowgli
Mount Moriah – Miracle Temple


Sorne will release Ego Altar later this year.

Stornoway will release Tales From Terra Firma on March 19 via 4AD.

Field Report’s self titled album is out now.

Efterklang’s Piramidea is out now.  They play the Mohawk on March 6.

GRMLN put out this track as a one-off single.

DWNTWN’s The Red Room EP is out now.

Junip will put out a self titled effort on April 23 via Mute.

Warm Soda will release Someone For You on March 26 via Castle Face Records.

Beware Of Darkness will release Orthodox on May 7 via Bright Antenna.

Pony Time released Go Find Your Own earlier this week via Per Se Records.

Eat Skull released Ill this week on Woodsist.

The Aprons released Sound Stains last year.

The Gossip put out a A Joyful Noise last year.

Decades will release a self titled album on April 30 via White Girl Records.

Bat For Lashes put out The Haunted Man last year.

Screaming Females just put out the Chalk Tape EP.

The ACB’s will release Little Leaves on March 5 via High Dive Records.

Continue reading...