Tag Archives: man man

Stream This

January 17, 2014


From the depths of the SOTO inbox, I present to you your weekly serving of the latest and greatest album streams and videos.  Enjoy.


ALBUM OF THE WEEKWarpaint – Self Titled

Abram Shook – Sun Marquee
Crushed Stars – Farewell Young Lovers
I Break Horses – Chiaroscuro
Feathers – Only One EP
The Hidden Cameras – Age
Girl Trouble – Hit It Or Quit It
Mogwai – Rave Tapes
Against Me – Transgender Dysphoria Blues
Gem Club – In Roses
Jeremy Jay – Abandoned Apartments
Alcest – Shelter
Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchesta – Fuck Off Get Free We Pour Light On Everything


Ages And Ages

Continue reading...

Stream This

September 6, 2013


The SOTO inbox is always full of cool stuff that never gets to see the light of day on the actual site, and I’d like to change that.  So, every Friday I’ll be posting the best album streams and videos that were sent my way during the week.  Take a scroll and find something worth remembering.


Terry Malts – Nobody Realizes This Is Nowhere
Holy Ghost! – Dynamics
Body/Head – Coming Apart
Man Man – On Oni Pond
Delorean – Apar
Mum – Smilewound
Jacuzzi Boys – Self Titled
Windhand – Soma
Janelle Monae – The Electric Lady
Arctic Monkeys – AM
Willis Earl Beal – Nobody Knows
Potty Mouth – Hell Bent
The Weekend – Kiss Land
Infinity Shred – Sanctuary
Grooms – Infinity Caller
Imaginary People – Self Titled
Pink Frost – Sundowning
Surf City – We Knew It Was Not Going To Be Like This
Mrs. Magician – B-Sides
The Orwells – Who Needs You EP


Sleigh Bells will put out Bitter Rivals on October 8 via Mom + Pop.  They play Stubb’s on October 27.

Black Joe Lewis put out Electric Slave last week via Vagrant.

Crystal Stilts’s Nature Noir is due out September 17 via Sacred Bones.

Kelley Stoltz will release Double Exposure on September 24 via Third Man Records.

SISU will put out Blood Tears on September 17 via Mono Prism Records.

FIDLAR have a tour-only split 7″ with The Orwells.  Get one when they play ACL in October.

Holograms just put out Forever via Captured Tracks.

Team Spirit’s self titled EP is out now on VICE/WBR.

Empire Of The Sun put out Ice On The Dune earlier this year via Astralwerks.

Tricky’s False Idols is available now.

Heliotropes’s A Constant Sea is out now on Manimal/Frenchkiss Label Group.

Continue reading...

Quickdraw: Black Joe Lewis, Man Man, Islands, FUZZ, Pelican

July 15, 2013

1 Comment

Today’s music likes to roller skate.  Enjoy.

:Black Joe Lewis – Come To My Party:  Just when it looked like Black Joe Lewis was going to put out an album of nothing but loud, guitar driven rock songs, he releases this dancy pop tune.  Electric Slave is going to be a weird (but probably good) listen.  It’s due August 27 via Vagrant.

:Man Man – Head On:  I really dig this song, but if all of the information attached to it didn’t say Man Man, there’s no way I would know it’s them.  Where’s the crazy, wild energy that they usually pack?  Weird.  On Oni Pond is due out September 10 via Anti-.

:Islands – Wave Forms:  Believe it or not, Islands are about to put out their fifth full length in seven years.  Don’t worry if you missed an album here or there, though, frontman Nick Thorburn says the new LP is “kind of a culmination of all the different things we’ve done over the years.” Ski Mask Out September 17 via Manque Music.

:FUZZ – Loose Sutres:  Ty Segall can’t stop, won’t stop, and now he’s put together a new act called FUZZ.  He’s joined by Charlie Moonhart and Roland Cosio, and their sound is thoroughly psychedelic.  The band’s self titled album is due out October 1 via In The Red.  If you’re in Austin, they play Red 7 on October 4.

:Pelican – Immutable Dusk:  It’s been a lengthy four years since Pelican’s last album, but they’re still as heavy as ever.  The new effort, Forever Becoming, is the first with guitarist Dallas Thomas (Laurent Schroeder-Lebec departed the band), and it’s due out on October 15 via Southern Lord.  They play FunFunFunFest in November.

Continue reading...