Tag Archives: frankie rose

Stream This

September 20, 2013


The SOTO inbox is always full of cool stuff that never gets to see the light of day on the actual site, and I’d like to change that.  So, every Friday I’ll be posting the best album streams and videos that were sent my way during the week.  Take a scroll and find something worth remembering.


Icona Pop – This Is … Icona Pop
Jesu – Everyday I Get Closer To The Light From Which I Came
Frankie Rose – Herein Wild
Crystal Stilts – Nature Noir
Islands – Ski Mask
Chvrches – The Bones Of What You Believe
Mazzy Star – Seasons Of Your Day
Au Revoir Simone – Move In Spectrums
Juliette Commagere – Human
American Sharks – Self Titled
Love Inks – Generation Club
The Crooks – Hold Fast
Oh Land – Wish Bone
Matt Pond – The Threeep


White Denim will release Corsicana Lemonade on October 29 via Downtown.  They’re set for both weekends of ACL.

Black Books’ self titled album is due October 15 via Believe Recordings.

Yuck will put out Glow & Behold on September 30 via Fat Possum.

Foxygen’s We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic is out now on Jagjaguwar.

MGMT’s self titled album is out now on Columbia Records.

Bass Drum Of Death have a self titled effort that’s out now on Innovative Leisure.  They play the Parish on October 18.

Static Jacks will release In Blue on September 30 via Old Friends Records.

Sebadoh’s Defend Yourself is out now on Joyful Noise Recordings.

Laura Veirs’ Warp And Weft is out now Raven Marching Band.

Solange’s True EP is out now on Saint Records.

Daft Punk’s Random Access Memories is out now.

St. Lucia’s When The Night is due October 8 via Neon Gold/Columbia.

In The Valley Below released the Peaches EP this week via Capitol Records.

We Are Scientists will release their Business Casual EP on October 15 via Dine Alone Records.

HSY just released their self titled EP on Buzz Records.

Continue reading...

Quickdraw: Cheatahs, Frankie Rose, The Casket Girls, Gap Dream, Tony Molina

September 3, 2013


Today’s music has never had a problem with your drinking.  Enjoy.

:Cheatahs – Cut The Grass:  I was hoping the arrival of this slab of shoegaze meant Cheatahs had readied their debut full length, but it’s apparently not coming until 2014.  Bummer.  On the bright side, you can get this song (and another a-side) in 7″ form on October 29 via Wichita Recordings.

:Frankie Rose – Street Of Dreams:  This has quickly become my favorite Frankie Rose song.  I really like the way the vocals are layered, and the pulsing beat provides a nice 80s touch.  Herein Wild is due out on September 24 through Fat Possum.

:The Casket Girls – Holding You Back:  It’s difficult to listen to this dream pop gem and not feel like there’s a variety of sad teenagers somewhere that could really use it.  I wonder if that’s what The Casket Girls were going for?  The band will participate in the first ever Cassette Store Day (September 7) by releasing a two-song limited edition tape via Graveface Records.

:Gap Dream – Shine Your Love:  “Everybody in this whole wide world has gone straight up insane.”  I agree.  Gap Dream will put out this quirky pop tune in 7″ form on September 17 via Fat PossumShine Your Light is the name of the full length, and it’s due November 12 on Burger Records.

:Tony Molina – Breakin’ Up:  Here’s a super quick one from Tony Molina.  I think it’s a fantastic pop song, and his upcoming effort is now a must-get for me.  The Six Tracks EP will be out next month as part of Matador’s Singles Going Home Alone 7″ series.

Continue reading...

Quickdraw: Desaparecidos, The Samps, The Blow, Frankie Rose, Diarrhea Planet

August 5, 2013


Today’s music does not believe that Saturday night’s alright for fighting.  Enjoy.

:Desaparecidos – Te Amo Camila Vallejo:  Of all the acts that have reunited in the last year or so, it seems like Conor Oberst’s Desparecidos has been met with the least amount of excitement.  Bummer.  I think they’re a great punk band.  This track is one side of their latest 7″, which is available now.  See them play the Mohawk on October 30.

:The Samps – Overnight Lo:  This is a really slick effort, and it makes me wish The Samps would release music on a more consistent basis.  For now, though, I’ll just have to settle for a compilation of sorts (it has 2010′s EP and a few unreleased tracks) called Macrochips And Microdips that’s due out August 28 via Big Love.

:The Blow – Make It Up:  Once I was able to move on from how I’m old and it’s been seven years since The Blow released Paper Television, I found this track to be a real charmer.  The dance act will release a self titled album on October 1 via Kanine.  Catch them at Red 7 on November 2.

:Frankie Rose – Sorrow:  I really liked Frankie Rose’s Interstellar, so I’m happy to see her back so quick with a new effort.  This pleasant pop song makes me think her new album is going to be super lush.  Herein Wild is due September 24 via Fat Possum.

:Diarrhea Planet – Babyhead:  As of right now, I don’t think there’s an album that I’m anticipating more than the one from Diarrhea Planet.  I’m just convinced it’s going to be full of rad anthems.  This is the third single off of I’m Rich Beyond Your Wildest Dreams, which is due August 20 via Infinity Cat Records.

Continue reading...