Tag Archives: faint

Quickdraw: Jeff The Brotherhood, The Faint, Duchess Says, Tennis, Big Baby D.R.A.M.

August 8, 2016


Music!  Enjoy.

:Jeff The Brotherhood – Roachin (Featuring Alicia Bognanno):  Here’s a quickie from Jeff The Brotherhood that features Alicia from Bully.  I love it, but I really do wish it was about four minutes longer.  Zone is due out August 12 via Dine Alone Records.

:The Faint – Skylab1979:  The Faint are getting ready to release a “greatest hits” comp of sorts, and with it will come a 7″ with some new tracks.  This is one of them.  It sounds like The Faint (in a good way, of course).  CAPSULE: 1999-2016 is due out September 30 via Saddle Creek.

:Duchess Says – I Repeat Myself:  I didn’t even think Duchess Says were a thing anymore, so it was a nice surprise when I stumbled across this new track from them.  It’s a very 80s-enthused effort, and I think it’s glorious.  Science Nouvelles is due out October 14 via Slovenly/Bonsound.

:Tennis – Ladies Don’t Play Guitar:  Tennis recently rolled out this new single.  Sound-wise it’s like their previous material, but the lyrics definitely feature a more assertive approach from frontwoman Aliana Moore.  Good for her.  No word yet on when a new album will arrive.

:Big Baby D.R.A.M. – Cute:  A couple of months ago D.R.A.M. (I guess he recently tagged Big Baby to the front of that?) played a show I put together for Red Bull Sound Select, and this song was one of the standout moments in his set.  I’m pumped to have a studio version.

Continue reading...

Quickdraw: Deerhoof, The Faint, Brand New, Father John Misty, Okkervil River

May 19, 2016


Music!  Enjoy.

:Deerhoof – Criminals Of The Dream:  I’ve quickly become attached to this overly pleasant new single from Deerhoof.  Can’t wait to hear the new album.  The Magic is due out June 24 via Polyvinyl.  See the band at the Mohawk on August 16.

:The Faint – Young And Realistic:  To coincide with the announcement of their tour with Gang of Four, The Faint put out his track.  Get ready to want to danse.  The band will be at Emo’s on October 15.

:Brand New – I Am A Nightmare:  Here’s an anthemic new one from Brand New, who haven’t released anything since 2009′s Daisy.  I’m into it.  The I Am A Nightmare 12″ will be out in June.  See the band with Modest Mouse at Austin360 Amphitheater on July 23.

:Father John Misty – Real Love Baby:  I can’t say I’ve ever felt the need to fully board the Father John Misty hype train, but I do really like this song – it’s so warm and catchy.  Grab this one while you can, as it’s a one-off effort.

:Okkervil River – Okkervil River RIP:  This is a slow-paced, nearly seven minute ball of sadness from Okkervil River.  You should strap on some headphones before you hit play.  Away is due out September 9 via ATO Records.

Continue reading...

The Faint

November 20, 2012


One of the things I’m most excited for right now is seeing the Faint at Emo’s East on November 28.  The band is currently out touring in support of their glorious Danse Macabre reissue, and I can’t wait to see them blast through it.  As it turns out, they’re also in the midst of slinging a four-track 12″ that features their first new tunes in four years.  Check out one below.  Enjoy.

:The Faint – Evil Voices:  These guys usually have a wealth of sounds going on, but this is a pretty straight forward dance jam.  As long as you crank the volume, you should dig it.

Bonus Video:

Continue reading...

Stream This

October 26, 2012


The SOTO inbox is always full of cool stuff that never gets to see the light of day on the actual site, and I’d like to change that.  So, every Friday I’ll be posting the best album streams and videos that were sent my way during the week.  Take a scroll and find something worth remembering.


Matt Bauer – No Shape Can Hold Me Now
Autumn Owls – Between Buildings, Towards The Sea
Death Songs – Sung Inside A House
Chad Valley – Younger Hunger
Andrew Bird – Hands Of Glory
Talk Normal – Sunshine


P.O.S. had to cancel his tour due to needing a kidney transplant.  You can donate money here.  We Don’t Even Live Here is out now.

DFA just released Sinkane’s new album, Mars.

INDYNS will put out a full length in the coming months.

The Hood Internet recently released FEAT.

You can pick up The Alchemist’s Russian Roulette now.

M83 will put out a Steve McQueen single (complete with remixes) on November 27.

Emil And Friends released the Royal Oats EP this week.

The Raveonettes released Observator earlier this year.

Wintersleep’s latest album is titled Hello Hum, and it’s available now.

Everybody’s Got It Easy But Me is out now.  The Intelligence play Red 7 on November 3.

Soley’s We Sink is out now.

Stars just played ACL.  The North is available now.

This is actually a different edit of ParadiseWild Nothing’s Nocturne is out now.

The Faint play Emo’s East on November 28 in celebration of the Danse Macabre reissue.

Vinyl Williams will release Lemniscate on November 13.

A Place To Bury Strangers are set to play Fun Fun Fun FestWorship is out now.

The Sword recently released Apocryphon.  They’ll be playing Fun Fun Fun Fest.

Sylver Tongue will release the Something Big EP on November 6.

Asthmatic Kitty will release Silver & Gold: Songs For Christmas Volumes 6-10 on November 13.  Sufjan Stevens will play Emo’s East on December 1.

Continue reading...