Tag Archives: dog party

Quickdraw: Heartless Bastards, Dog Party, It Looks Sad, Son Lux, The Sandwitches

June 1, 2015


Music!  Enjoy.

:Heartless Bastards – Black Cloud:  I very much appreciate how consistently good Heartless Bastards have been over the years.  It’s an impressive feat.  Anyhow, this latest single of theirs has a bounce to it that I really like.  Restless Ones is due out June 16 via Partisan.  See them at the Mohawk on November 21.

:Dog Party – Sapphires:  Here’s a new ripper from the duo known as Dog Party.  I get the feeling that their new album is going to be one of those that’ll be great to blast in the car.  Vol. 4 is due out June 16 via Burger Records/Asian-Man Records.

:It Looks Sad – Creature:  While I don’t necessarily know how to feel about any band that willingly calls themselves It Looks Sad, I do like this track.  It’s a shimmery anthemic number that I can’t get out of my head.  The Kaiju digital single is due out June 19 via Tiny Engines.

:Son Lux – You Don’t Know Me:  This new one from Son Lux is aggressive and big, and I think you’re going to love it.  We’ll be in for a treat if all of their upcoming LP is this good.  Bones is due out June 23 via Glassnote.

:The Sandwitches – Miggy:  I haven’t really cared much for the other singles that have been released in anticipation of The Sandwitches’ new album, but this one works for me.  I love the vocals and the overall retro-feel of the song.  Our Toast is due out June 9 via Empty Cellars Records.

Continue reading...

Quickdraw: Titus Andronicus, Dog Party, Sweet John Bloom, Tame Impala, Leon Bridges

May 4, 2015

1 Comment

Music!  Enjoy.

:Titus Andronicus – Dimed Out:  Titus Andronicus are back with a new album that’s reportedly a 28-song, 93-minute rock opera.  It sounds insane, so I want and need it now.  This first single is a raucous beast.  The Most Lamentable Tragedy is due out July 28 via Merge.

:Dog Party – Peanut Butter Dream:  Back in 2013 Dog Party put out a pretty solid album by the name of Lost Control.  This fuzzy gem has me thinking the follow-up will be better.  Vol. 4 is due out June 16 via Burger Records/Asian Man Records.

:Sweet John Bloom – Tell Me:  This blip of a song (it’s barely a minute and a half long) is pretty damn infectious.  I have high hopes for Sweet John Bloom’s upcoming album, which is titled Weird Prayer and is due out in June via Tiny Engines.

:Tame Impala – Disciples:  A request for a new Tame Impala track went out during a Reddit AMA, and the band delivered.  How nice.  As for this song, it’s a shimmering pop effort that will leave you wanting more.  Currents will be out later this year via Interscope.

:Leon Bridges – River:  Here’s the latest work of beauty from Leon Bridges.  I’m not sure he has it in him to create anything that isn’t stunning.  Coming Home is due out June 23 via Columbia.  See him at Stubb’s on May 11 with Lord Huron.

Continue reading...

Stream This

August 9, 2013


The SOTO inbox is always full of cool stuff that never gets to see the light of day on the actual site, and I’d like to change that.  So, every Friday I’ll be posting the best album streams and videos that were sent my way during the week.  Take a scroll and find something worth remembering.


Chastity Belt – No Regrets
Dog Party – Lost Control
Spaceships – Cool Breeze Over The Mountains
Soft Swells – Lifeboats EP
Tree -Demons EP
The Delta Mirror – Better Unsung
Running – Vaguely Ethnic
Typhoon – White Lighter


Chvrches will put out The Bones Of What You Believe on September 24 via Glassnote.

Au Revoir Simone will release Move In Spectrums on September 24 via Instant Records.

Minks just released Tides End on Captured Tracks.

Batwings Catwings’ Whoa EP is out now on Higher Life.

Porcelain Raft will release Permanent Signal on August 20 via Secretly Canadian.

Quasimoto’s Yessir Whatever is currently available.

MGMT will put out a self titled album on September 17 via Columbia.

Caged Animals will release In The Land Of Giants on September 3 via Lucky Number.

Phosphorescent’s Muchacho is out now on Dead Oceans.

Rhye’s Woman is out now Loma Vista.

Laura Veirs will release Warp and Welt on August 20.

Portugal, The Man’s Evil Friends is out now on Atlantic.

Yo La Tengo’s Fade is out now on Matador.

Sombear’s Love You In The Dark is out now.

Continue reading...